Is TRADOS worth the investment?
Thread poster: karine Richardson
karine Richardson
karine Richardson
Local time: 05:52
English to French
+ ...
May 8, 2003

I am considering buying the Trados software to speed up my work. Could anyone tell me what they think of it and whether it is easy to use or just another tool that needs a lot of fine tuning before you can actually use it.

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 06:52
English to German
+ ...
IMO, yes May 9, 2003

Hi Karine,

I have been using Trados for about eight years, and would definitely answer \"yes\". But I\'m sure you\'ll also find quite a few contrarian opinions if you look at past threads.

As with other professional software packages, you will need training to fully grasp the functionality (note that the same applies to MS Word!).

Why don\'t you take a look at the ProZ.com CAT Center (go to \"Tools\") - there\'s a section called \"CAT Fight\" w
... See more
Hi Karine,

I have been using Trados for about eight years, and would definitely answer \"yes\". But I\'m sure you\'ll also find quite a few contrarian opinions if you look at past threads.

As with other professional software packages, you will need training to fully grasp the functionality (note that the same applies to MS Word!).

Why don\'t you take a look at the ProZ.com CAT Center (go to \"Tools\") - there\'s a section called \"CAT Fight\" where you can compare the ratings translators have assigned to various CAT tools.

HTH - Ralf
Collapse

Marijke Mayer
Marijke Mayer  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 06:52
Dutch to English
+ ...
Definitely May 9, 2003

But by all means check out the competition.

Giuliana Buscaglione
Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:52
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
Yes... go for it! May 9, 2003

Hi,