Which CAT Tool?
Thread poster: Gayle Rolando (X)
Gayle Rolando (X)
Gayle Rolando (X)  Identity Verified
Sweden
Swedish to English
+ ...
Mar 10, 2009

I am new to CAT Tools and would like to learn a little more. I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, but I can't really use the specific support forums to ask a general question - so here goes.

I don't know enough about CAT tools to know which one to invest in. As background, I don't do heavily technical translations and I dont think I will be doing any localization (just yet). I know some translators think this a must - but as a start I am looking for a simpl
... See more
I am new to CAT Tools and would like to learn a little more. I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, but I can't really use the specific support forums to ask a general question - so here goes.

I don't know enough about CAT tools to know which one to invest in. As background, I don't do heavily technical translations and I dont think I will be doing any localization (just yet). I know some translators think this a must - but as a start I am looking for a simple tool that accepts a number of file formats, that is easy to use and that simplifies my job (too much learning all at once may just complicate things).

I have been learning to use Wordfast Pro, but have seen some negative comments regarding the newer version and would hate to end up wasting time on something that has no future. Others thought MemoQ was better. I would be most grateful for any feedback from anyone with more knowledge than I have right now. I am prepared to buy a licence and learn the software, but would just like some kind of guidance before doing so as it will cost both time and money in the end.

Thanks to anyone who can help me!
Collapse

Stéphanie Soudais
Stéphanie Soudais  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 01:31
English to French
Have you looked into the archives? Mar 10, 2009

Hi Gayle,