Trados and PageMaker
Thread poster: Elena Miguel

Elena Miguel  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 23:04
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 24, 2003

I've been offered a huge project in PageMaker involving several manuals that must be translated in PM. I'm quite familiar with Trados, and as some parts of the text are repeated in several manuals (security requirements, etc.) I'm wondering whether it is possible to use Trados or some other program to handle these parts of the text.
I must admit I've never used PM before, and have no idea on how to start. Is is a convenient software to work with, I mean, is it better to export the files to some other format easier to handle?
Could somebody please give me some brief guidelines on how to proceed (i.e., first you have to... and then..).
To begin with I've received a CD with the file and each manual has been divided into several folders with some pages in each PM file, is this normal?
Thank you in advance for your time and patience.

Direct link Reply with quote

Wojciech Froelich  Identity Verified
Poland
English to Polish
StoryCollector for PageMaker is the key Oct 24, 2003

Find STORYCOLLECTORPM1033.HLP file and follow the instructions you can find there. One exception - you do not have to use Workspace, you can use standalone applications.

Let me know if any part of the help is unclear, I will provide you with more information.

Regards,
Wojtek Froelich

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:04
Flemish to English
+ ...
Does not seem to work too well... Oct 24, 2003

froelich wrote:

Find STORYCOLLECTORPM1033.HLP file and follow the instructions you can find there. One exception - you do not have to use Workspace, you can use standalone applications.

Let me know if any part of the help is unclear, I will provide you with more information.

Regards,
Wojtek Froelich