Mobile menu

Trados V6 - how best to work with agencies using V3 or V5.5?
Thread poster: ignobis
ignobis
Spain
Local time: 14:23
German to Spanish
Dec 5, 2003

Hi everybody!

I'm a translator from German into Spanish (I hope not to make too many mistakes by writing in English, please excuse me if I do so). I wonder if I should't have bought Trados 6 (previously I worked with Trados 3 or Transit XV), because now I only can send my translations to those agencies which use Trados 3 or 5.5 by exporting my TM (in fact, I think many of them have decided not to buy the latest versions, due to their prices and the "short life" of Trados 5.5). And now Trados 6.5! I bought Trados 6 in Juni! And I'd have to pay again for it, if I wanted to buy!
I'd like to ask you two questions:
- Do you think I could install again Trados 3 and work with both without having troubles? (Perhaps Trados sellers do have a trick to avoid this, once you have bought Trados 6, since I had to actualize it)
- Do you think I could receive less jobs because of this issue?

Thank you very much!

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Concurrent use Dec 5, 2003

Hi "ignobis",
I wonder if I should't have bought Trados 6 (previously I worked with Trados 3 or Transit XV), because now I only can send my translations to those agencies which use Trados 3 or 5.5 by exporting my TM (in fact, I think many of them have decided not to buy the latest versions, due to their prices and the "short life" of Trados 5.5).

Exporting is the proper way of exchanging data anyway, unless you send them pre-cleanup files, in which case the version used to work on the file is irrelevant.

And now Trados 6.5! I bought Trados 6 in Juni! And I'd have to pay again for it, if I wanted to buy!

Bear in mind that 6.5 offers some new functions, particularly the ability to use TagEditor on Excel and PowerPoint. But then, nobody forces you to upgrade, right?