Need a help in starting using a CAT

Olga Dyussengaliyeva  Identity Verified
Kazakhstan
Local time: 10:41
English to Russian
+ ...
Dec 9, 2011

Dear colleagues,
Although I'm not new to translation as profession, I'm new in using CAT tools in my work - so it happened that I've been doing fine without them. Now as I'm broadening my translation practice I found a need in using tool to aid my performance. I've learned something about various tools, but haven't been successfull in using them yet.
I need advise in 1 - selecting a CAT, 2- learning how to use it. Is there any online resources that I can refer to?
Thanks a lot.

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicolas Coyer  Identity Verified
Colombia
Local time: 00:41
Spanish to French
+ ...
comparison table Dec 9, 2011

Hello Olga,

Here is one piece of information that might help you make a informed choice (please keep in mind this document is on the website of one of the CAT vendors, so it might be biased, but I think it still gives a good overview of the offer):
http://xtm-intl.com/webinar/Main_CAT_TOOL_Comparison.html

HTH
Nicolas

JaneD  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 06:41
Member (2009)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Using and selecting are not the same Dec 9, 2011

Hi Olga,

I well remember my own halting steps as I tried to understand what a CAT was and what it could do for me. I am now a happy user of Trados Studio 2009, and I can't imagine being without it, but I would definitely not recommend it for you as a beginner to the very concept of the tool.

On the basis of my own path - which of course I feel is ideal! - I would advise the following: