Thread poster: Stuart Carthy
Stuart Carthy
Stuart Carthy  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 11:57
Japanese to English
Oct 16, 2013

Hello

I'm ready to get started as a freelance translator after signing with some agencies. However, I'm not sure which CAT to opt for. I'm a Japanese to English translator based in Japan.

I've seen posts saying don't get CAT until you know you need it etc.. But I think that I'll need one sooner or later anyway and it would raise my profile if I knew my way around one.

After a little research, I have narrowed down my options to Trados Freelancer 2014 or Me
... See more
Hello

I'm ready to get started as a freelance translator after signing with some agencies. However, I'm not sure which CAT to opt for. I'm a Japanese to English translator based in Japan.

I've seen posts saying don't get CAT until you know you need it etc.. But I think that I'll need one sooner or later anyway and it would raise my profile if I knew my way around one.

After a little research, I have narrowed down my options to Trados Freelancer 2014 or MemoQ and I was wondering what you guys think is the best.

Answers much appreciated.

[Edited at 2013-10-16 06:15 GMT]
Collapse

Yan Yuliang
Yan Yuliang  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:57
English to Chinese
+ ...
Trados, of course Oct 16, 2013

Always choose the most popular one, but I don't think you need the latest version.

One good thing about Trados is you can get support whenever you have a problem. I have used Trados for almost seven years, and it has never let me down.

Roy Williams
Roy Williams  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 04:57
German to English
Not so simple Oct 16, 2013

The most popular doen't necessarily mean the best. I switched from Wordfast to MemoQ some years ago and have been completely satisfied. I tried Trados and found it extremely cumbersome. And the latest version of MemoQ can process Trados files and is less expensive.

[Edited at 2013-10-16 07:38 GMT]

Tony M
Tony M
France