GiovanniGranata
GiovanniGranata  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:13
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 17, 2014

Hello,

I am pretty new to Proz.com, so apologies if I posted within the wrong category or if somebody else has already posted the same question.
I have been translating for many years now, in the traditional way, that is, without using any CAT tools.

Having to choose one now, I am pretty doubtful, I have downloaded the free trial version of Fluency and I find it pretty efficient and time-saving, although I don't have any benchmarks, as that is the only CAT I hav
... See more
Hello,

I am pretty new to Proz.com, so apologies if I posted within the wrong category or if somebody else has already posted the same question.
I have been translating for many years now, in the traditional way, that is, without using any CAT tools.

Having to choose one now, I am pretty doubtful, I have downloaded the free trial version of Fluency and I find it pretty efficient and time-saving, although I don't have any benchmarks, as that is the only CAT I have used so far. The price for the annual fee is more than 300$.

I wanted to see if some of you can recommend the best tool for generic translations.
Your help would be very appreciated,

Thank you,
Giovanni
Collapse

dasmi
dasmi
Local time: 10:13
English to Italian
+ ...
OmegaT - without doubt Jun 17, 2014

Hi, Giovanni,

give a try to OmegaT: It is an opensource CAT tool. The most interesting thing is that it is developed by translators and not by engineers, so it is really simple to use.
It is free and you can find a lot of documentation online. There is a dedicated forum (https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/OmegaT/conversations/topics) whe
... See more
Hi, Giovanni,

give a try to OmegaT: It is an opensource CAT tool. The most interesting thing is that it is developed by translators and not by engineers, so it is really simple to use.