Set up a translation website?
Thread poster: lisa lee
lisa lee
lisa lee
Local time: 10:55
English to Chinese
Sep 8, 2008

I have been working as a translator for a couple of years now. I have a few questions:

1. A lot of translation companies promised that they would contact me when they have project for me. But it has been a long time and I still have not got any project from them. Is this common in translation industry?

2. Does it help to get more translation jobs to set up a translation website and promote it on the internet? How to promote it?

3. Apart from contact
... See more
I have been working as a translator for a couple of years now. I have a few questions:

1. A lot of translation companies promised that they would contact me when they have project for me. But it has been a long time and I still have not got any project from them. Is this common in translation industry?

2. Does it help to get more translation jobs to set up a translation website and promote it on the internet? How to promote it?

3. Apart from contacting the translation companies and biding here, what can I do to get more translation jobs, assuming that I am a qualified freelance?

Thanks for your comment.
Collapse

Wenjer Leuschel (X)
Wenjer Leuschel (X)  Identity Verified
Taiwan
English to Chinese
+ ...
Be patient. Sep 8, 2008

Hi Lisa,

1. It is common in this industry that you must wait for a long time until some companies contact you for URGENT jobs and you make it to convince them that you are a quick and good helping hand, so that they keep you busy for ever after. Just be patient. It is common because the companies depend on their clients as well and they are still not running out of their translator pools for URGENT jobs.

2. It does help a bit, but why should a freelance translator inves
... See more
Hi Lisa,