https://www.proz.com/forum/chinese/19198-fictitious_mothers_and_chinese_language_diversity.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
Fictitious mothers and Chinese language diversity
Thread poster: Roddy Stegemann
Roddy Stegemann
Roddy Stegemann
United States
Local time: 13:35
German to English
+ ...
Mar 10, 2004

Welcome!

I have opened this forum with a very specific purpose in mind. As I can see how it could easily be expanded to attract a larger audience; however, I have provided it with a general heading that can accommodate a wide variety of comments. If it should become to unwieldly, we can always go our separate ways and create new forum topics. Please write in English wherever possible, so that I may follow my own forum easily. I am only a very knowledgeable beginner of one Chinese la
... See more
Welcome!

I have opened this forum with a very specific purpose in mind. As I can see how it could easily be expanded to attract a larger audience; however, I have provided it with a general heading that can accommodate a wide variety of comments. If it should become to unwieldly, we can always go our separate ways and create new forum topics. Please write in English wherever possible, so that I may follow my own forum easily. I am only a very knowledgeable beginner of one Chinese language -- Cantonese.

The Singaporean government advertises that Singaporean students must study English and a mother tongue while in primary and secondary school. What the government calls a mother tongue is either Chinese, Malay, or Tamil. Although I am not familiar with Malay or Tamil, after a limited discussion on the English-Chinese Kudoz bulletin board I have nearly concluded that very many, but not all, Singaporean children are learning two second languages in school. With regard to most Chinese-Singaporeans the two second languages are English and Mandarin (Beijing Chinese).