Mobile menu

I'm a newcomer into this career and have some general questions about this business.
Thread poster: Yuan (Andy) Wang, M.A. Ed.

Yuan (Andy) Wang, M.A. Ed.
United States
Local time: 04:09
English to Chinese
+ ...
Oct 5, 2004

I apologize if these questions are answered elsewhere. I'm new to the business and needless to say, very busy getting started. Here are some of my general questions.

1. Are there any other software programs that you find helpful with translations? (CAT tools?) What do you think of Trados?

2. What Chinese system do you suggest for use with Windows XP. What kind of fonts do we need?

3. What are payment options online? How do we get paid from people clear across the world? (We've been using PayPal; is that the best one?)

4. How important is a professional website? Have you found your website to be your main attraction for customers?

5. I've been asked for a quote on my "target word" count. I'm only aware of source word counts. Aren't target word counts too arbitrary?

6. How many different combinations of price quotes are there? For example, do you charge a different price for native language into target language as you would for source language into native language?

Thanks for the help!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2004-10-05 06:34]

Direct link Reply with quote

Jing Nie
China
Local time: 18:09
Member (2011)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Welcome to PROZ! Oct 5, 2004

1. Are there any other software programs that you find helpful with translations? (CAT tools?) What do you think of Trados?
Trados is a good Software except its price. I think Yaxin CAT 2.5 is also a good CAT tool, since Yaxin have its database of words, while Trados have not.

2. What Chinese system do you suggest for use with Windows XP. What kind of fonts do we need?
I think you can use Chinese version of Windows XP, or you can choose Chinese language in English Windows XP, you may ask others to help you .