Trados 5.0, Dejavu 3.0.21, Wordfast 3.35i : Chinese character problems
Thread poster: mrchan
mrchan
mrchan
Local time: 06:08
Malay to Chinese
+ ...
May 3, 2002

I am new to translation memory tools. All following problems are related to Chinese language input/display. Experienced user please help solving my problems.

1. Trados 5.0 Freelance, English trial version -

a) In Tag-editor, I can input english character only but not Chinese character. I am using WindowsXP with Chinese(PRC) as non-unicode language setting. I am using Microsoft Global IME tool and other programs to input Chinese character. I just able to
... See more
I am new to translation memory tools. All following problems are related to Chinese language input/display. Experienced user please help solving my problems.

a) In Tag-editor, I can input english character only but not Chinese character. I am using WindowsXP with Chinese(PRC) as non-unicode language setting. I am using Microsoft Global IME tool and other programs to input Chinese character. I just able to enter a space-occupied but blank character. Why ? What\'s wrong with me ? Please help.

b) In WordXP English version, I \'Open \' a phrase, translate it, \'Close\' it. The resultant Chinese characters appreared to be invalid characters. Why ? What\'s wrong with me ? Please help.

2. DejaVu 3.0.23, English trial version - I am using WindowsXP with Chinese(PRC) as non-unicode language setting. I finish the translation into Chinese chracters, save as WordXP format. Later, open the file using WordXP English version, invalid characters appear. Why ? What\'s wrong with me ? Please help.