Mobile menu

Off topic: Question / Chinese Male Given Names
Thread poster: Steven Battisti

Steven Battisti  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:14
Japanese to English
Feb 8, 2006

Hi, sorry for the English post, but I'm a Japanese translator.

I'm looking for a large list of male given names, romanized, for a personal project. (This is not a job.)

Does anyone know where I could find such a list? I've tried baby name sites, but they usually only have 20 or so Chinese names. I'm looking for at least several hundred names.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!
Steve Battisti

Direct link Reply with quote

Jianjun Zhang  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:14
English to Chinese
+ ...
Hi Steven, Feb 9, 2006

They promise 1000 such names, but I failed twice to open the big file here. Give it a try: http://www.lechinois.com/en/firstname/firstname1000.html

Steven Battisti wrote:

Hi, sorry for the English post, but I'm a Japanese translator.

I'm looking for a large list of male given names, romanized, for a personal project. (This is not a job.)

Does anyone know where I could find such a list? I've tried baby name sites, but they usually only have 20 or so Chinese names. I'm looking for at least several hundred names.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!
Steve Battisti

Steven Battisti  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:14
Japanese to English
TOPIC STARTER
Lechinois Site Feb 9, 2006

Jianjun Zhang wrote:
They promise 1000 such names, but I failed twice to open the big file here. Give it a try: http://www.lechinois.com/en/firstname/firstname1000.html

Hi, thanks for the link. I tried this site, but it looks like it's mainly Chinese translations of Western names. What I am looking for are authentic Chinese male names (like Jianjun, for example).

Any other suggestions? Thanks very much!

Steve

Wenjer Leuschel  Identity Verified
Taiwan
Local time: 00:14
English to Chinese
+ ...
Different ways of naming Feb 9, 2006