Recommended reference works?
Thread poster: Clive Wilshin
Clive Wilshin  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:33
Russian to English
+ ...
Nov 10, 2002

Dear Colleagues,

I am primarily a Russian-English translator, but I also offer French-English. However, I am woefully under-resourced in terms of reference works for this pair.

Apart from Le Petit Robert and the wonderful on-line granddictionnaire, what are the reference works no translator of French should be without? In particular, I would appreciate the recmmendation of a good French-English scientific and technical dictionary.

Thanks in advance,

Direct link Reply with quote

Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:33
Member (2000)
Russian to English
+ ...
Termium Nov 10, 2002

I don\'t translate from French myself, but the French forum here often refers to Termium, a Canadian government sponsored online dictionary which our colleagues seem to find useful. I just checked it out and it seems quite expensive to me - US$25 per month or US$225 per annum, but you can get a free 7-day trial. If you\'re interested, try

Claudia Iglesias  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:33
Member (2002)
Spanish to French
+ ...
Robert and Collins Nov 11, 2002

In this thread

Robert & Collins had a lot of votes. I don\'t have it yet (it\'s coming on December), I only have Harrap\'s that has been criticized a lot.

Termium is very useful for technical terms, particularly when they are different from Europeans, as it\'s Canadian.

I think you can have a first idea following the KudoZ questions, and seeing when it gives the right answer (or the only answer). Then when you\'ve got your idea try it, as Jack says.

It depends on the translations you have to do.

Another one is EURODICAUTOM. Useful, doesn\'t always agree with TERMIUM.

Sorry I don\'t have the links, I just installed Windows and every thing in my computer, it\'s empty (Don\'t worry for me, I have them in a CD, not copied yet).