Mobile menu

Copyright v. Zeitungsartikeln
Thread poster: Saga
Saga
English to German
May 21, 2004

Hallo an Alle,

ich haette zwei Fragen:

1. Wenn ich Zeitungsartikel (US, UK) uebersetze, die copyright-geschuetzt sind und diese auf einer deutschen Webseite veroeffentlicht werden, muss die Zeitung dann erst um Erlaubnis gebeten werden?

2. Muss ich am Ende des Dokuments die Quelle angeben? Sicher gibt es hierfuer ein genaues Format. Vielleicht wisst Ihr von einem link, der mir weiterhelfen koennte!

Vielen Dank!

Gruss,

Yvonne

Direct link Reply with quote

Ken Cox  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:11
German to English
+ ...
I believe you do have to request permission May 21, 2004

Hi Yvonne,

I'm not an expert on copyright, but from a bit of exploration of the subject using Google, I have the definite impression that you must ask permission (newspaper articles are by definition copyrighted in all countries that are party to the Berne convention, and that includes the US and probably most if not all West European countries). As for what you have to do to credit the source, in my experience that depends on what the copyright holder specifies -- some are relatively relaxed, while others have very specific requirements.

To get a firmer opinion on this you could always ask a German lawyer familiar with copyright issues, but you could also try asking a major German newspaper or periodical (they presumably have to deal with the same issue) or a reputable translation agency.

Good luck -- ken

[Edited at 2004-05-21 22:04]

Olav Rixen
Canada
Local time: 04:11
English to German
+ ...
Client's responsibility May 22, 2004

I'm no legal expert, but I would think it should be the client's responsibility to ensure that he has permission to have copyrighted material translated, and not that of the translator.

German to English
+ ...
further comment May 22, 2004

Olav Rixen wrote: