Is there a market for Spanish>English patent translation?
Thread poster: Jill Heske (X)
Jill Heske (X)
Jill Heske (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:50
Spanish to English
Apr 14, 2008

Hi All!

I am a Translations Studies student and brand new to Proz.com. I have a Master of Science degree in Engineering and have been in IT, as a programmer, for 25 years, so I'm really looking forward to doing IT translations. My husband is a patent agent so I thought that with my technical background it might be a great idea to specialize in patent translations. I was wondering whether some of the experienced translators could comment on whether there is a market for translati
... See more
Hi All!

I am a Translations Studies student and brand new to Proz.com. I have a Master of Science degree in Engineering and have been in IT, as a programmer, for 25 years, so I'm really looking forward to doing IT translations. My husband is a patent agent so I thought that with my technical background it might be a great idea to specialize in patent translations. I was wondering whether some of the experienced translators could comment on whether there is a market for translating patents from Spanish to English, and if so, could elaborate a bit. If there is a potential market, I will take the time to study the field and even take some patent application and claims-related courses. I'm just beginning my studies, so I have time to elect the Legal Translating (obviously more general than patent law) courses too, if there is a chance that this would help.

Thanks so much to the experts for any advice!
Collapse

liz askew
liz askew  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:50
Member (2007)
French to English
+ ...
You will have to find the market Apr 15, 2008