Thread poster: briski
briski
briski  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Italian to French
+ ...
Apr 16, 2008

Hello,
I know that this topic has been already asked, but haven't found anything for Chinese agencies.

I have answered to a job offer posted on proz, they sent me a translation test (one into my mothertongue, the other into English and they have explained me why) and at the end of the email they also write that before starting cooperation with them, as I am a formal freelance translator, they need a copy of my ID/passport.
Shouldn't the VAT number be enough to show that
... See more
Hello,
I know that this topic has been already asked, but haven't found anything for Chinese agencies.

I have answered to a job offer posted on proz, they sent me a translation test (one into my mothertongue, the other into English and they have explained me why) and at the end of the email they also write that before starting cooperation with them, as I am a formal freelance translator, they need a copy of my ID/passport.
Shouldn't the VAT number be enough to show that I am a professional translator and pay taxes?
I deal with many foreign agencies (although none in China) but none have ever asked me a scanned copy of my passport...

Can someone advise or share experience? Is this normal? I am a bit concerned about it....
Thanks!
Collapse

Faruk Atabeyli
Faruk Atabeyli  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 10:32
English to Turkish
+ ...
I would not Apr 16, 2008

Requesting passport number or any other personal information always rings the alarm bells with me. I immediately suspect identity theft. I may have received too many Nigerian 419 scams but better safe than sorry.

briski
briski  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Italian to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
BB Apr 16, 2008

Tha agency has BB entries, 3 to be be exact, and they are all very positive.
That's why I sent them my CV...eventhough in the offer, thay had alreday written they wanted a copy of the passport/ID.