Some questions from a beginner
Thread poster: Sara Senft

Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:50
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 12, 2008

Hi everyone! I am new to translation/interpreting and I want to make sure that I am starting off well. So, I have some questions.

1) Do you have to pay taxes on the money you earn from pojects? If so, what are the guidelines?

2) How can I get more work? I bid on lots of projects but I rarely hear back about them. Admittedly, I have less credentials than some of you but I have to start somewhere.

Those are the only qestions I have right now.

Direct link Reply with quote

Pavel Blann  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 12:50
English to Czech
hi sara Jun 12, 2008

1) ask your state/federal tax office

2) it usually takes several years to build up your client base so be patient, go step-by-step and gain experience in the meantime...

good luck!

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:50
English to Spanish
+ ...
Some answers Jun 12, 2008

1) Do you have to pay taxes on the money you earn from projects? If so, what are the guidelines?

YES, of course. Income tax and Self-Employment Tax (Social Security). Check IRS Income Tax guidelines for self-employed persons. All the information you need to know can be found online.

2) How can I get more work?

There is no magical answer for this one, we have all had to start somewhere and it has been a different experience for everyone.

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:50
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
The job search in real life Jun 12, 2008

Srta Sara wrote:
2) How can I get more work? I bid on lots of projects but I rarely hear back about them.

Don't rely exlusively on the virtual jobhunt, but leverage real life for job leads, too.