Mobile menu

Relative "Newbie" looking for some advice.
Thread poster: barrycreed
barrycreed
Ireland
Local time: 14:27
Italian to English
+ ...
Jul 29, 2008

Hello all,

I've only just registered on this site and am delighted to find a huge amount of excellent information related to translators and interpreters etc.

I would like to delve into the area of translating (again). I worked as a technical writer/technical translator for 2 years, (from 2002-2004) translating and proof reading software manuals from Italian to English.

99% of my work was done using Microsoft Word.

Since then I have done some minor translations from French to English and from Italian to English.

So, I guess I am out of the loop a little bit, but would love to dip my toes back into the area of translating again. I am aware that my language and translating skills may be a little rusty, so would like to attempt some small translations at first.

Can any of you point me in the right direction here? What essential tools/software should I have? What should I charge? Should I just dive into the jobs section and start clicking?

Thanks, and looking forward to your advice,

Barry

Direct link Reply with quote

barrycreed
Ireland
Italian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
info Jul 29, 2008

I've just looked around and found some useful info.

Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:27
Member (2008)
Russian to English
+ ...
Check the info that's on the site Jul 29, 2008

I posted a similar message to yours when I first joined, and many others do too. The site has so much information on it, that's hard to know where to begin. The FAQ document (on the toolbar under "About") deals with the question of what to charge. There is a forum on CAT tools and other software. There is also a "user manual" which does not seem to be listed anywhere, but you can find it under "Translation articles" ("Community" on the toolbar) if you look hard. (Not "users" but "user.")