Mobile menu

Do you have to be a medico to translate medical texts?
Thread poster: WitchDoctor
WitchDoctor
Local time: 05:43
English to Russian
Aug 12, 2008

I've been interested in medicine as long as I can remember. Spent my school years reading Encyclopedia of Therapeutics and Manual of Human Dissection- that sort of stuff..Even worked couple of summers at hospital as a nurse.
However, life circumstances made me enter a linguistic university, so my profession is supposed to be far from medical. But the calling is the calling- you know, it's just a part of you!
I'm obsessed with the idea to become a qualified translator of medical texts. As I'm determined, I know that technically it's not a problem, I can learn anything required. But is it possible to get the recognition- you know, to be considered a REALLY GOOD professional in this area,constantly being compared with practicing doctors?

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxPRen
Canada
Local time: 22:43
French to English
+ ...
Well.. Aug 12, 2008

you'd probably have to be more than a "witch doctor"

James McVay  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:43
Russian to English
+ ...
No Aug 12, 2008

If you can do the work, that's all that matters.

Frankly, I don't see how a practicing doctor has time to also work as a translator, given the short deadlines and the need to constantly monitor e-mail. But that's another matter entirely.

[Edited at 2008-08-12 23:59]

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:43
Spanish to English
+ ...
Don't need to be a doctor Aug 13, 2008

I think a formal biomedical background is more important for medical editors than for translators.