Thread poster: andresgran

andresgran  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 23, 2008

Hi everybody,

I am a free member and I want to upgrade to full membership. Could you tell me what I should do, once a full member, to have everythig going, and get enough work to be able to work in it full time?

I'd appreciate any kind of help.

Thanks a lot in advance.

my e-mail is: andresgran@hotmail.com

Direct link Reply with quote

Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:34
Spanish to English
+ ...
It will take time Sep 23, 2008

Welcome, Andres!

I'm still rather new to freelance translating. Even so, I can suggest a few things.

It will take time. Just like in other businesses, there isn't such a thing as an overnight success.

What's your specialty? Whatever it is, focus on getting work in that area. One of my specialties is Spanish to English immigration law translations. That said, one of my strategies is contact law offices that work/specialize in immigration.

When deciding if you will accept or decline a project, consider more than the amount of money you would earn. I've learned that the hard way.

If you are working on an urgent project and it's split among several translators, underestimate how much you can do by the deadline. I learned this the hard way, too.

I hope your efforts pay off well!

--Señorita Sara (that's what my students call me; I also tutor ESL children)

andresgran wrote:

Hi everybody,

I am a free member and I want to upgrade to full membership. Could you tell me what I should do, once a full member, to have everythig going, and get enough work to be able to work in it full time?

I'd appreciate any kind of help.

Thanks a lot in advance.

my e-mail is: andresgran@hotmail.com

Damian Harrison
Germany
German to English
Learn from others Sep 23, 2008

You can learn from others who have already put in some time and effort by reading as many of these articles as possible: