Silvia Barra (X)
Silvia Barra (X)  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:03
English to Italian
+ ...
Oct 22, 2008

Hello to all!
It's only few months that I am a fulltime translator. I'd like to know what other translators do (I mean related to the job)when they have no projects on going.
Since I've started this job it's the first time it occurs to me to be without jobs (and surely this situation will repeat other times) and I'd like not to waste my time, while I can spent it in some useful things.
Thanks to all
Bye bye
Silvia

Buck
Buck
Netherlands
Dutch to English
Suggestion Oct 22, 2008

Why not contact different agencies and try to drum up some new business?

Marion van Venrooij-Rooijmans
Marion van Venrooij-Rooijmans
Netherlands
English to Dutch
What I SHOULD be doing Oct 22, 2008

Hi Silvia,

It's pretty quiet over here as well and there are a lot of things I SHOULD be doing: archiving past projects, cleaning up my mailbox, cleaning my desk, getting a headstart on preparing my invoices for the end of the month, sorting out all the papers on my desk...

Instead, I'm playing games and reading posts on the Proz forum (although the latter actually has to do with translation).

Buck's suggestion is also a good one.

Cecilia Falk
Cecilia Falk  Identity Verified
English to Swedish
Create/update web site, glossaries Oct 22, 2008

* Create a web site if you don't have one, or update your existing one.
* Update your CV so you always have an updated one to send when requested.
* Search the net for glossaries that can be useful in you future work.
* Streamline your invoicing procedures and administrative system (I have an Excel file where I insert all assignments with project numbers etc so I can keep track of overdue invoices, the yearly turnaround etc).
* Research useful tools and maybe try them out
... See more
* Create a web site if you don't have one, or update your existing one.
* Update your CV so you always have an updated one to send when requested.