translator in UK
Thread poster: David M
David M
David M
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:44
English to Polish
Oct 27, 2008

I currently reside in the UK where I’m going to work as a translator. I got a bachelor degree in translation, I did a few translations on the side before I moved here and I’m proficient in CAT tools. To begin with I’d like to translate into my mother tongue. I’d like to know if I have to register my activity here and on what basis I could work with translation agencies or individual clients. I’m looking for the most economical solution.

Damian Harrison (X)
Damian Harrison (X)
Germany
Local time: 08:44
German to English
Here or 'here'? Oct 27, 2008

Do you mean here at proz or 'here' in the UK?

David M
David M
United Kingdom
English to Polish
TOPIC STARTER
in the UK Oct 27, 2008

In the UK. Sorry I wasn't precise enough

canaria
canaria
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
You don't need to register as a translator Oct 27, 2008

David M wrote:

I currently reside in the UK where I’m going to work as a translator. I got a bachelor degree in translation, I did a few translations on the side before I moved here and I’m proficient in CAT tools. To begin with I’d like to translate into my mother tongue. I’d like to know if I have to register my activity here and on what basis I could work with translation agencies or individual clients. I’m looking for the most economical solution.

However, you do need to register with the tax and social security authorities. And you should really only translate into your mother tongue. You may be able to get advice for starting out from the ITI (www.iti.org.uk).

As for working for agencies, you just need to contact them with your cv and see what happens. Can be a slow process.

Alexandra Salmon-Lefranc
Alexandra Salmon-Lefranc  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
You need to register with the HMRC as self-employed (if you want to freelance) Oct 27, 2008

Hello David,