https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/120283-translation_rates_and_agency_cut.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Translation rates and agency cut
Thread poster: Pamplemousse
Pamplemousse
Pamplemousse
German to English
Nov 10, 2008

Hello,

I am fairly new to freelance translation and my languages are German and French and I translate into English.

I was just wondering what a reasonable rate to charge for a translation would be? And is it normal practice to charge per word or per 1000 words in the UK?

Also, does the rate charged vary as to whether you are working for a direct client or via an agency? What percentage of the client's fee does an agency usually take?

Thank
... See more
Hello,

I am fairly new to freelance translation and my languages are German and French and I translate into English.

I was just wondering what a reasonable rate to charge for a translation would be? And is it normal practice to charge per word or per 1000 words in the UK?

Also, does the rate charged vary as to whether you are working for a direct client or via an agency? What percentage of the client's fee does an agency usually take?

Thank you for your help.
Collapse

Sergei Leshchinsky
Sergei Leshchinsky  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 06:55
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
there are some differences... Nov 10, 2008

If you work alone it is up to YOU who will
- produce TM
- manage terms
- proofread the text
- provide for QA
- etc.
Hence the price.

If you work for an agency you may expect THEM to
- produce TM
- manage terms
- proofread the text
- provide for QA
- etc.
Hence the price.

I cannot disclose the figures... All I can say is: know you daily needs and come to some daily rate.
Cheers!

[Ред�
... See more
If you work alone it is up to YOU who will
- produce TM
- manage terms
- proofread the text
- provide for QA
- etc.
Hence the price.

If you work for an agency you may expect THEM to
- produce TM
- manage terms
- proofread the text
- provide for QA