Thread poster: khaos
khaos
Portugal
Local time: 18:52
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Dec 18, 2008

Hi everyone,
I'm a 22 years old portuguese man looking to get started in the translation world. I have the knowledge to translate but i don't know how everything works. What software, what rates, wich jobs..
I currently work as a turist guide for a portuguese company that works only with americans and i thought i could start doing translation jobs. I would love if someone could give me some tips on how to get started.

Regards,

André Perdigão

Direct link Reply with quote

Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:52
Member (2008)
Russian to English
+ ...
Info on the site Dec 18, 2008

Dear Andre,

First, your post indicates that you should not translate into English. Only into your native language--that's the rule for professionals. Your English is not up to it.
But for English to Portuguese:

There is a ton of information already on this site, but it's not easy to orient yourself. Someone asks the same question that you do every week in the Forums. Learn now to do a Forum search. If you watch the Forums for a week or so for topics that interest you, many of your questions will discussed.

There is a user's guide to the site at:

http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/articles/262/1/ProZ.com-Translation-User-Manual

Read the Frequently Asked Questions at:

http://www.proz.com/faq

Most of this is stuff you probably don't want to know right now, but take a look anyway.

One thing you will learn from the FAQ is that rate information for different language pairs is only available to paying members of the site.

Good luck,
Susan

Dawn Montague  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
Other good resources Dec 18, 2008

I would highly recommend two titles: