Thomas Castagnacci
Thomas Castagnacci  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:48
English to Italian
+ ...
Dec 28, 2008

Dear everyone,

I am an italian translator, who has worked hard to achieve his current situation. I am a freelancer, like most of you. I live in Berlin and every now and than I like to go back to Italy to see my famliy and my girlfriend...
I actually love my job, despite some bad sides of the coin. However, hearing about the crisis to come and the hard reality of the translation market, I was wondering if this job could last for life. In Germany is hard to get a position as in-
... See more
Dear everyone,

I am an italian translator, who has worked hard to achieve his current situation. I am a freelancer, like most of you. I live in Berlin and every now and than I like to go back to Italy to see my famliy and my girlfriend...
I actually love my job, despite some bad sides of the coin. However, hearing about the crisis to come and the hard reality of the translation market, I was wondering if this job could last for life. In Germany is hard to get a position as in-house translator and therefore I had to try the freelance way.

Well... Now I am 24 and can afford not to work for a month, but...Since I would like to settle down and make a family one day, I was asking myself whether this job could provide me a stable future and a constant income.

I was also thinking about becoming a conference interpreter.... But my question is:

What if I cannot find a stable situation? Shall I insist or simply give up and find something else?

Thank you all and enjoy your time!
Collapse

Stephanie Wloch
Stephanie Wloch  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Dutch to German
Since when and how exactly? Dec 28, 2008

Hi Thomas,
first of all 24 years is very young for a freelancer.
So I think it's more difficult unless you have
- a very good network or/and
- excellent education
- considerable hands-on experience
- some good marketing strategies