https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/131464-what_can_i_do_when_the_job_isnt_sent.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What can I do when the job isn't sent?
Thread poster: Michelle Plaistow
Michelle Plaistow
Michelle Plaistow  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:55
French to English
+ ...
Mar 28, 2009

I am a newbie and I am yet to actually get a translation job, although I have been bidding almost constantly on every job (on here and other sites) for which I am eligible since January. Last weekend I thought I had a job, but due to my lack of experience I didn't realise that the client expected me to confirm receipt of the email in which he confirmed receipt of my email confirming receipt of the documents. Unfortunately the job was just cancelled instead of trying to get hold of me to ask. ... See more
I am a newbie and I am yet to actually get a translation job, although I have been bidding almost constantly on every job (on here and other sites) for which I am eligible since January. Last weekend I thought I had a job, but due to my lack of experience I didn't realise that the client expected me to confirm receipt of the email in which he confirmed receipt of my email confirming receipt of the documents. Unfortunately the job was just cancelled instead of trying to get hold of me to ask.

Then yesterday I received an email from Agency XXX asking if I could help with this huge project for early next week. I jumped at the chance and immediately sent my Skype details to them, as requested. We chatted about the job a little, I accepted (without seeing the document, I'm so desperate) and even gave a conservative estimate of how much I could do so that I wouldn't be too rushed. Again, the rate was lower than hoped for, but maybe my expectations are what need to be adjusted.