Any suggestions as to how I might make others feel more confident in my translation abilities?
Thread poster: AllenFreese
AllenFreese
AllenFreese
United States
Local time: 12:36
Chinese to English
+ ...
Apr 8, 2009

I'm just getting started as a translator, and my lack of experience is a definite drawback to just about everyone who might potentially want to work with me, even if I have communicated extensively with them in their language [the target language, & e.g., my most recent failure was with a potential Chinese client]
Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I might make others feel more confident in my abilities?

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-04-08 14:27 GMT]

Siegfried Armbruster
Siegfried Armbruster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:36
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Why should anybody give you a job? Apr 8, 2009

My headline might be blunt, but it is key to answering your question.
What do you offer? In which area(s) do you feel confident enough to handle a translation job - medical, technical, tourism? "Linguistics" as specialty and "Also works in Telecom". Might not be enough.
Looking at you profile I found no information that would convince me to give you a job. You have to promote the points that make it attractive to clients to give you even a small job. I might be wrong, but you look ve
... See more
My headline might be blunt, but it is key to answering your question.
What do you offer? In which area(s) do you feel confident enough to handle a translation job - medical, technical, tourism? "Linguistics" as specialty and "Also works in Telecom". Might not be enough.
Looking at you profile I found no information that would convince me to give you a job. You have to promote the points that make it attractive to clients to give you even a small job. I might be wrong, but you look very young on your picture, some might get the message "very inexperienced". I would recommend to use a logo instead.