Mobile menu

How can I find a Russian in-house positions in London?
Thread poster: Natalia Millman

Natalia Millman
Local time: 12:59
English to Russian
+ ...
Aug 11, 2003

Hi fellow translators,

I am a bit disappointed with the situation I am in at the moment and would appreciate if you give me some advice.

I am a native Russian speaker who lives in London, with all the permits and residency.

I have never had any actual experience of working apart from translations that I have done at Imperial.

I have just finished my MSc in Technical, Medical and Scientific Translation at Imperial College. The title sounds impressive, doesn't it? But..... there is always but. I can't find an in-house position. May be I am doing something wrong.

Although I have a translator's degree, I also know how to do localisationg, proof-reading an revision. I have thought that in-house position would be great in the beginning, when I can get experience and work in a team of translators. Noone wants Russians because it is neither German or Spanish,or Italian or French.

I have sent my CV to hundreds of companies who "will keep it on file" (will they really do so?). I have also build my own website www.ekalinka.com

I have build a few glossaries and can easily use Trados, SDLX, Deja Vu and Star. In addition, I am learning how to use properly Photoshop and Dreamweaver and reading tons of informaiton about science, technology and medicine.

What is wrong then?? How can I find a Russian in-house positions in London??

All your comments are welcome!

Thanks,
Natalia

Direct link Reply with quote

Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2000)
Russian to English
+ ...
BBC Overseas Service Aug 11, 2003