Mobile menu

how to get started in conference interpreting
Thread poster: xxxgetting
xxxgetting
English to French
Feb 17, 2002

Hello! I would like to know how to get started in conference interpreting. I have a degree in translation+interp. and I have just finished a master in conference interpreting. I have only worked as a freelance tranlator for a publisher so I have no idea how to get started as a conference interpreter. I live in Paris but I\'d be ready to travel to the Netherlands or to Germany if the congress is held there.

Should I look for agencies at random in internet and send them my CV? Should I have a look at the yellow pages?

Could you recommend me any reliable interpreting agencies all around Europe?

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Conrado Portugal
Germany
Local time: 15:42
German to Spanish
+ ...
Getting stablished as a conference interpreter Feb 17, 2002

Dear colleague,

Since you have a masters degree in conference interpreting you probably know by now practising conference interpreters,e.g. your interpreter teachers at school, that can give you some more piece of information about getting stabished.

First of all: be patient, since you assignment won\'t come as soon as you may wish. There are some months during the year (May, Juni, Spt. Oct.) in which the work load for established conference interpreters is such that there are always need of new fresh-graduates conference interpreters; you chances during these months are much higher, so you should start right now writing people and agencies telling them you are there.