Thread poster: Irai Freire
Irai Freire
Irai Freire  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 21:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 19, 2003

Hi everybody: I've been a translator for about 7 years (English into Spanish, mainly). This is my first time posting a question in a forum.

I already have information about this topic, the thing is that on the Internet I only found information (in English) from the point of view of insurance companies.

In my country (Argentina) apparently we don't have this type of insurance. So, I should contract it in the States. But, as far as I know it is rather expensive. Is it wor
... See more
Hi everybody: I've been a translator for about 7 years (English into Spanish, mainly). This is my first time posting a question in a forum.

I already have information about this topic, the thing is that on the Internet I only found information (in English) from the point of view of insurance companies.

In my country (Argentina) apparently we don't have this type of insurance. So, I should contract it in the States. But, as far as I know it is rather expensive. Is it worth having an insurance (mistranslation, not meeting deadlines)? I started to consider the possibility when applying for a translation agency. One of the items asked if I had professional liability insurance.
Thanks a bunch!
Iraí Rayén Freire
Collapse

Graciela Carlyle
Graciela Carlyle  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
search the forums for "indemnity insurance" Dec 19, 2003

Hola Iraí,

That's how it's normally called.
Here's one of the many threads, and I agree with most of the opinions that it's not worth it.
http://www.proz.com/?sp=bb/new&ViewTopic&post=49864#49864

I was looking into it when I started in Argentina, but for the same reasons you said, I didn't get any.
When I moved into the UK, I realised
... See more
Hola Iraí,

That's how it's normally called.