Mobile menu

Professional Indemnity Insurance - What to choose?
Thread poster: ACMTRAD
ACMTRAD  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:59
Member (2003)
English to Spanish
Feb 5, 2004

Hi, I am a UK-based freelance translator established a few motnhs ago.

I want to get a Professional Indemnity Insurance (E&O), but I am not sure about the limit of indemnity I should choose.

So far, my turnover has not been great, and I do not know to what extent that affects to the limit of indemnity.

Could anyone tell me what the average limit od indemnity I should get.

Is it £100,000 not enough, or too much? I am really confused with this

Many thanks in advance

Alvaro

Direct link Reply with quote

Johanna Timm, PhD  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 22:59
Member (2002)
English to German
+ ...
Become a member in a professional translators' organization! Feb 5, 2004

Professional translators' organization often have arranged special deals with insurance companies offering E&O, so it would be worth your while to inquire and purchase a membership. As an example, I pay a modest $120.00 per year for a coverage of $2,000,000 per loss period and $1,000,000 per loss, with a deductible $ 500.00 per loss.
Hope this helps!
johanna

Spain
Member (2003)
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Feb 5, 2004

Dear Johanna

Thanks a lot for your help

It is cheaper than I expected and I think it is worth considering

Again, thanks a lot and all the best

Alvaro

Dr Andrew Read  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:59
Member (2004)
German to English
+ ...
Join the ITI - by far the cheapest UK option! Feb 8, 2004

Hi

I am in a similar position to you as I set up as a freelancer just a few months ago in the UK and was worried about insurance.

I found some links to different professional indemnity insurers on one of the regional translators' association sites (I can't remember which) and gave all of them a call for a quote.