Environmental Science/Studies/Policy as a specialty
Thread poster: sarahng (X)
sarahng (X)
sarahng (X)
Local time: 15:03
Apr 15, 2011

I'm a recent university grad interested in getting into translation as a career. I'm in the very early stages of planning a career and would not be beginning to work anytime soon, but I have a couple of questions.

The environment is a huge passion of mine. I'm wondering if that is a viable specialty, if I were able to translate both the science and policy sides of the field? I mostly hear of business, IT, finance, and law as specialties, but environmental studies does encompass m
... See more
I'm a recent university grad interested in getting into translation as a career. I'm in the very early stages of planning a career and would not be beginning to work anytime soon, but I have a couple of questions.

The environment is a huge passion of mine. I'm wondering if that is a viable specialty, if I were able to translate both the science and policy sides of the field? I mostly hear of business, IT, finance, and law as specialties, but environmental studies does encompass many areas -- agriculture, climate, marine issues, international development, etc. Would someone be able to find enough work to get by on with this specialty? The language pair would be French > English (and possibly eventually Spanish > English, as I'm nowhere near fluent in it but still studying). For additional specialties, I have a degree in psychology with experience related to autism and developmental disabilities, and I could translate culinary texts and cookbooks (I already translate recipes for my own use or to share with friends).