Lack of info in job offer
Thread poster: Philip Birzulis
Philip Birzulis
Philip Birzulis  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:48
English to Latvian
+ ...
May 23, 2004

I've been a translator from Latvian to English for about four years, but have just started using Proz. While it seems like a wonderful tool to get work, I'm a comlete newcomer and am not sure about how to respond to job offers (my previous experience has been entirely with agencies in my home city where I have face to face contact and can therefore just ASK.) On Friday I got this offer, which puzzled me a bit:

I'm contacting as we have a 29.000 words job in the home
appliance
... See more
I've been a translator from Latvian to English for about four years, but have just started using Proz. While it seems like a wonderful tool to get work, I'm a comlete newcomer and am not sure about how to respond to job offers (my previous experience has been entirely with agencies in my home city where I have face to face contact and can therefore just ASK.) On Friday I got this offer, which puzzled me a bit:

I'm contacting as we have a 29.000 words job in the home
appliance manual filed
to be done by the May 28th, are you interested?

The use of TagEditor is compulsory.

Specs are below:

Repetitions 19757
100% - 7402
95-99% - 2072
85-94% - 2983
75-84% - 2417
50-74% - 1015
No match - 29029

Repetitions > 10% rate
100% > 10% rate
95% - 99% > 60% rate
85% - 94% > 60% rate
75% - 84% > 60% rate
50% - 74% > 100% rate

MY QUESTIONS ARE:
- why didn't the agency indicate what the rate for 100% is (and didn't answer an email question about it)?
- if they just say "rate", is there an assumption that they accept my minimum or target rate?
- it seemed a bit short on details, ie not even specifying what direction of my language pair they need (I'm much stronger on Latvian to English). Is this usual?
- are most job offers this concise, and if so what are the assumptions a beginner like me needs to make?