Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Can you make a living by being a translator?
Thread poster: MarianaPerei (X)
MarianaPerei (X)
MarianaPerei (X)
Portugal
Local time: 03:20
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 29, 2012

Hi there!

As a translation student, I always wonder if when I finish my course and finally start working in the translation market, I'll be able to earn enough money to make a living, or if in the beginning I should consider finding a part-time job to earn some extra money.

Can you give me your own opinion?

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 04:20
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
I suspect May 29, 2012

MarianaPereira wrote:
I always wonder if when I finish my course and finally start working in the translation market, I'll be able to earn enough money to make a living...

I suspect the rule of thumb for any new translator also applies to student translators, namely that it will take you 6-12 months to establish your business with sufficient income to support you. This means that you should either have 1 year's money stashed somewhere, or you should start doing translation part-time... or you should land yourself a job as an employee translator.

Ka Yee MECK

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Definitely, but you need a lot of different skills May 29, 2012

Hello there.

There are a lot of successful freelance translators on this site - and a lot who are struggling.

You are almost 100% sure to find things very difficult at first so a part-time job may not be a bad idea. This is not specific to translating as freelancers in every discipline need time to build their client base.

But the main problem you may face is credibility. Translators don't just need to know how to translate: they need to have in-depth knowl
... See more
Hello there.

There are a lot of successful freelance translators on this site - and a lot who are struggling.