Mobile menu

help with profile/CV
Thread poster: David Jessop

David Jessop  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 11, 2004

I am a newer translator and I was wondering if you wouldn´t mind taking a look at my profile and CV and offering me feedback. I would greatly appreciate it.

Saludos de Bolivia.

Direct link Reply with quote

Özden Arıkan  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:03
English to Turkish
Hello David, Jul 12, 2004

A couple of points reflecting my subjective experience of a profile while I was faking an outsourcer who had to pick a translator in a language combination as crowded as Spanish>English, and not with too much time to examine every detail: if one or two full-block paragraphs are entered, I tend to first scroll down to take a quick peek at more noticeable data; like italic or bold sections, and numbers. (Maybe later, I will look at other info, but in the meanwhile, if something catches my attention down there, I may even forget to scroll up back.) Do you really have to state in italic face that you "graduated in January 2004"? I read it before everything else - before "BA in religion" and worse, before "6 years of experience" (which is in no way brief), for instance

Another silly point (I mean, another subjective point of mine that may sound silly to everyone else). Underlined characters don't impress me much... maybe because they resemble links, but are unclickable (hence frustrating), or they look a bit outdated. This is very subjective, though, I admit.