How do I start my own translation company in NC, USA?
Thread poster: Svetlana Welch
Svetlana Welch
Local time: 08:55
English to Russian
Nov 21, 2004

I've been working as a free-lance translator/interpreter for a few years. My friend has been helping me with editing. Finally, we decided that it's time to start our own company. We live in Raleigh, NC, USA.

Any advice from experienced business owners?
We will appreciate it a lot.
Many thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxsarahl
Local time: 05:55
English to French
+ ...
Fasttrac Nov 21, 2004

Hi shakhoven
of course, an accountant would be in a better position to answer your question.
However, before you even talk to your accountant, I strongly recommend you attend a Fasttrac seminar, they're very good.
This is a national program that is sponsored by Chambers of Commerce and local universities, they teach the basics of starting a small business. Your local Chamber of Commerce should have their calendar, or try www.fasttrac.org.
Good luck!
Sarah

aneta_xh  Identity Verified
English to Albanian
+ ...
First ask yourself if you are ready for this step Nov 22, 2004