Advice on Growing my Business?
Thread poster: Steven Battisti

Steven Battisti  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:15
Japanese to English
Feb 25, 2005

Hello all,

I've been freelancing now for about 6 months (Japanese to English). I've ended up working with 3 agencies and a few other freelancers, and all has gone well. Most of these I have met through ProZ.

I was working non-stop during the last few months of last year, but since January I've only managed to find one or two tiny jobs. I've submitted quotes for several jobs here at ProZ, but nothing has panned out.

I'd like to grow my business network so that the volume of work doesn't vary quite so widely.

I'm not involved with many agencies, so that could be an option. However, I am hesitant, because while I am confident in my abilities, I only have 6 months of experience and no certifications. I don't want to hurt my future chances of working with an agency by rushing.

What suggestions do you have for growing my business? This is only a part-time evening job for me, so working full-time for a company in-house until I build more experience is not an option.

Steve Battisti

Direct link Reply with quote

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:15
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
This is nothing to worry about yet Feb 26, 2005

It happens even after years in business that within a few months nothing comes up through the usual channals. Then you have time for advertisement!
I would suggest, you contact agencies and direct clients with good reputation and offer your services. Many have online forms for freelance translators to fill in by you.
How do you know, if they are good? You look them up in payment related mailing lists at Yahoo and other sites. If other freelancers give praise to an outsourcer for good conduct regarding payment then you should consider to contact the firm.
But do not expect immediate success, be patient.

Sven Petersson  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:15