Thread poster: Anna Fitzgerald
Anna Fitzgerald
Anna Fitzgerald  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 11:16
French to English
Apr 11, 2005

Hello,

I am a freelance French to English translator. I have been translating professionally for the last four years and am currently trying to build my client base so that I can support myself as a translator. My idea of a mentor is someone who would share his or her workload. I would gain in experience, rather than being paid. My areas of specialization are religion, biology, biochemistry, chemistry and contemporary art. Having studied biochemistry in both French and American univ
... See more
Hello,

I am a freelance French to English translator. I have been translating professionally for the last four years and am currently trying to build my client base so that I can support myself as a translator. My idea of a mentor is someone who would share his or her workload. I would gain in experience, rather than being paid. My areas of specialization are religion, biology, biochemistry, chemistry and contemporary art. Having studied biochemistry in both French and American universities, I feel I have the background to become a medical translator and would love to work with a translator in this field.

Another suggestion I have had is to look for volunteer translation work. If anyone has any ideas as to where such work can be found, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!
Collapse

00000000 (X)
00000000 (X)
English to French
+ ...
Be careful Apr 11, 2005

Hi Anna --

I think you're setting yourself up for exploitation.

Perhaps a better idea to increase your workload would be to learn how to use CAT Tools. You can download Wordfast for free at:

http://www.wordfast.net/index.php?whichpage=downloadpage&lang=engb

If you like it and use it enough to have large translation memo
... See more
Hi Anna --

I think you're setting yourself up for exploitation.