Looking for a French to English translation mentor
Thread poster: Anna Fitzgerald

Anna Fitzgerald  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 20:28
French to English
Apr 11, 2005

Hello,

I am a freelance French to English translator. I have been translating professionally for the last four years and am currently trying to build my client base so that I can support myself as a translator. My idea of a mentor is someone who would share his or her workload. I would gain in experience, rather than being paid. My areas of specialization are religion, biology, biochemistry, chemistry and contemporary art. Having studied biochemistry in both French and American universities, I feel I have the background to become a medical translator and would love to work with a translator in this field.

Another suggestion I have had is to look for volunteer translation work. If anyone has any ideas as to where such work can be found, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

xxx00000000
English to French
+ ...
Be careful Apr 11, 2005

Hi Anna --

I think you're setting yourself up for exploitation.

Perhaps a better idea to increase your workload would be to learn how to use CAT Tools. You can download Wordfast for free at:

http://www.wordfast.net/index.php?whichpage=downloadpage&lang=engb

If you like it and use it enough to have large translation memories, you can purchase a licence for a very reasonable price.

The manual is excellent, and from there you could try Trados.

But instead of Trados, I would personally recommend SDLX. You can try the full version for one month without any commitment. The documentation is free and available at:

http://www.sdl.com/products-home/products/products-support/products-support-documentation/products-support-documentation-2004.htm

Good luck!

Esther

xxxLia Fail  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:28
Spanish to English
+ ...
agree with Esther Apr 12, 2005

Anna Fitzgerald wrote:

Hello,