Career AdviceCould anyone give me some advice regarding translation qualifications?
Thread poster: Esther Cocks
Esther Cocks
Esther Cocks  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:34
German to English
Jun 6, 2005

Career Advice

Could anyone give me some advice regarding translation qualifications?

My name is Esther Cocks, I am 29 years old, British and have been living in Munich, Germany for almost 10 years. I studied Equestrianism when I was 16 years old and have successfully worked for 3 Olypmic Team riders.
Three years ago I decided that although I love the sport, it isn't a career that you would find yourself doing in your later years of life and should seriously think
... See more
Career Advice

Could anyone give me some advice regarding translation qualifications?

My name is Esther Cocks, I am 29 years old, British and have been living in Munich, Germany for almost 10 years. I studied Equestrianism when I was 16 years old and have successfully worked for 3 Olypmic Team riders.
Three years ago I decided that although I love the sport, it isn't a career that you would find yourself doing in your later years of life and should seriously think about something new. Having travelled extensively from competition to competition each weekend, I decided languages should be the next step forward.
With a view to move back to the UK I started studying a BA Honours Degree in Modern Languages with the Open University (German, Spanish and English). Athough the course fees are higher when a non-UK resident (e.g 370 GBP UK fee is then 805 GBP for a non-UK resident), I was planning to move back.
Now, I have been informed that even though I will be resident in the UK (London) as from January 2006, I will have to continue paying double for the next 3 years! (one course fee is 890 GBP and will cost me 1560 GBP - the complete cost of the Degree being almost 8500 GBP).