Thread poster: Tamara Sinobad

Tamara Sinobad  Identity Verified
Serbia
Local time: 12:59
Member (2005)
English to Serbian
+ ...
Jul 1, 2005

I am a fresh freelancer and I need some help from my experienced colleagues. I have contacted several agencies and so far I've entered to databases.
My question is: How many agencies do you normally work with?
I wouldn't like to overdo it and on the other hand I would definitely like to have enough work.
What's the right balance?
Thank you all in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Kevin Fulton
United States
Local time: 06:59
German to English
Time will take care of this issue Jul 1, 2005

Do not expect to be swamped with work if you send your CV to a dozen or more agencies.
Not every agency you send a CV to will select you for work in your language combination, even though they may enter you into their database. After using you once, some agencies may not hire you again (for whatever reason: could be price, logistics, quality of work), while others may prefer to use you for specific types of documents, especially if you have a specialty. I work with about a half dozen agencies on a regular basis, although I've sent out a lot of CVs over the years. From time-to-time I send out my CV to a new agency, or an agency my contact me based upon a colleague's recommendation.

vorloff
Bosnian to English
+ ...
You can never overdo it Jul 2, 2005

Hi Pickwick,