[Edited at 2005-08-06 16:30]

Direct link Reply with quote

Clare Barnes  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 19:03
Swedish to English
+ ...
organisation... Jul 5, 2005

I've been lucky recently and worked with a few extremely good agencies. These have have, on the whole, provided me with: initial estimated word counts, subject matter and deadline before I accept the job, reference files and links to helpful glossaries on the Internet, a document with layout instructions and info about the text's purpose/target readers. Plus there's been at least one project manager who sent a work order, answered e-mails quickly, provided feedback about my translation and sent written invoicing information... and so far I've been paid on time too!

I'm a happy freelancer at present!

Agua  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
More positive bits. Jul 5, 2005

Hello,

I really appreciate it if the agency:

1. when they can, let you know in advance that you may have something coming and do not assume yu can do it.

2. they reply to queries really fast.

3. they send a PO that clearly states wordcount, deadline, payment, and all data necessary to prepare the invoice.

4. they acknowledge receipt of translated files reasonably fast.

More when they come to mind.

Best,
Mar

gad
United States
Local time: 14:03
French to English
Agencies I like Jul 5, 2005

Basically, to sum it up, I'd say they communicate well and pay according to terms. While you can't know the latter until you actually work for an agency, you usually can tell pretty quickly whether or not an agency communicates well. Communicating well includes letting me know the exact date and time the translation is due, as well as confirming receipt of the finished translation assignment, for example.

Gillian Scheibelein  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
German to English
+ ...
more bits Jul 6, 2005

In addition to Mar's comments - especially points 3+4 - I appreciate: