Diana Marfogel
Diana Marfogel  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 13:06
Hebrew to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 24, 2002

Hello to everybody,

I am quite new in Proz.com. I don\'t understand how do I know that the answer to a bid is \"No, thanks\". What is the average period of time that it takes to job posters to answer bids?

Thank you, Diana

corinne durand
corinne durand  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:06
English to French
+ ...
Hi Diana Jun 24, 2002

Hi Diana,

To answer your question, according to my own experience, I would say that if you haven\'t heard anything in the hour following a bid, you probably have not been selected. It very much depends on the sort of job, the more urgent the job (as it is often the case), the quicker the decision, if it is just to be added on a database, then it may take a few days. Sometimes ou may receive a \"thank you, another bid has been chosen for job XYZ\" mail a few days later, howev
... See more
Hi Diana,

To answer your question, according to my own experience, I would say that if you haven\'t heard anything in the hour following a bid, you probably have not been selected. It very much depends on the sort of job, the more urgent the job (as it is often the case), the quicker the decision, if it is just to be added on a database, then it may take a few days. Sometimes ou may receive a \"thank you, another bid has been chosen for job XYZ\" mail a few days later, however, unfortunately, the outsourcers do not seem to use this functionality very often to inform the bidders.

Hope this helps...good luck.

Corinne
Collapse

Trudy Peters
Trudy Peters  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:06
German to English
+ ...
I'm also wondering about closing job postings Jun 24, 2002

How do we know when a translator has been selected and the job is no longer open? Some postings seem to stay up forever, and it seems to me that translators could be wasting their money/BrowniZ bidding on a job that has already been closed.