Translation Company Internships in France
Thread poster: Tania Therien

Tania Therien
Canada
Local time: 15:00
Danish to English
+ ...
Aug 14, 2005

I'm looking to find an internship with a French translation company, both in order to learn more about the business as well as to perfect my spoken French. Has anyone done this before? I'm hoping for any advice on finding an internship in France available, but as a non-EU resident, I'd be especially grateful for advice from anyone from North America who has tried this.

Thanks,
Tania

Direct link Reply with quote

Mark Smith  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:00
German to English
+ ...
Me too! Jan 16, 2006

Sorry to butt in on your post, but I'm also very interested in finding an internship with a French / francophone translation agency and would welcome any help people out there could provide.

Good luck Tania.

Mark Smith, UK

Tania Therien
Canada
Danish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
No luck so far Jan 17, 2006

Hi Mark -

I bet you'll have an easier time of it because of your EU status - at least I hope so. In August and September I sent out fifty resumes and covering letters in French to various translation companies. Only a handful got back to me to say that they weren't taking any interns at this time, and I talked to another on the phone who said that they'd be happy to have me on a volunteer basis. Alas, at this point, I couldn't afford to work overseas without at least a little renumeration. It seems that most internships in France are volunteer, so if that's an ooption for you it should work out fine.

Good luck!

Mark Smith  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:00
German to English
+ ...
Sorry to hear that Jan 18, 2006