Mobile menu

How many of you have made this mistake?!?
Thread poster: Sylvia Smith
Sylvia Smith  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:11
French to English
Aug 31, 2005

Hello all,

I'm relatively new at freelancing, and today I made an error that some of you are probably familiar with...

I quoted a price before taking a good look at all the work that would be involved. Now I see I could have quoted a higher rate. Oh well, live and learn, baptism by fire I suppose.

Nice to have a community to share this with!

Kind regards,

Direct link Reply with quote

Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Hope it wasn't a big job! Sep 1, 2005

I'm sure we've all done it... Just as we're getting a teeny bit confident! I hope it wasn't a big job and a big loss.

What's important is to make sure you can keep the deadline or, if you do get a nasty surprise, that you tell the client or agency at once.

Often they are very understanding, if you are in real trouble, not just being difficult. Sometimes they can actually help solve the problem. But if clients have to rearrange their programme because of late delivery, they need notice!

Even if they can't help, they can see how hard you are trying, and perhaps avoid similar problems another time.

Happy translating!

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:11
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Once Sep 1, 2005

I wonder who hasn't done this... once. Consider the money lost as tuition in a course in the University of Life.

A further tip along the same lines: besides not setting a final price, I've learned never to set a delivery deadline until I have the text in hand. Also, if confirmation of the job is in doubt, the deadline is set when I've received confirmation, or the text, whichever happens later.

Erik Hansson  Identity Verified
Member (2002)
+ ...
Fixing deadlines Sep 2, 2005

Hi Sylvia,

I think most of us has done this mistake