https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/36707-how_to_make_it_as_new_translator.html

How to make it as new translator?
Thread poster: Belle Schwarz (X)
Belle Schwarz (X)
Belle Schwarz (X)
Local time: 07:17
German to English
+ ...
Sep 14, 2005

I typed my name and profile in several of translator resources and waited. Not much happened. I understand that going Platinum helps, but what other ways are there to get translations offers, to get customers?

Mikaele (X)
Mikaele (X)
Local time: 14:17
English to French
+ ...
starting as a translator Sep 28, 2005

BelleBelle wrote:

I typed my name and profile in several of translator resources and waited. Not much happened. I understand that going Platinum helps, but what other ways are there to get translations offers, to get customers?

Hi,

I'm also a new translator and I sought advice from friends in the translation industry and I've also looked around the different forums in some of the major translation directories.

I could gather that being a member of the different translation directories helps very much. I was also told to put my name in the yellow pages, to have professional looking business cards and to have my own website. I think that selecting translation agencies which are looking for translators in your field of specialization would also be very useful.

I hope the above helps.

John Walsh
John Walsh  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 14:17
Italian to English
Welcome to Proz.com Sep 28, 2005

You've taken the first step by becoming a member. Now read some articles at http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/categories/ProZ.com-Site-Features/.

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

How to make it as new translator?

Translation news

Trados Studio 2022 Freelance
The leading translation software used by over 270,000 translators.