https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/39293-tips_on_finding_translation_work_in_france_as_a_non_eu.html

Tips on finding Translation work in France as a non-EU
Thread poster: Alana C
Alana C
Alana C
Local time: 09:03
French to English
Nov 21, 2005

I am a recent graduate from a Translation program. I will be spending 8 months in France next year on a work visa and I would ideally like to find work in translation rather than working in a cafe

I am hoping that those with much vaster experience than I can offer some words of advice. Are there good places to look for job opportunities? Are temporary positions difficult to find? Are companies receptive to recent g
... See more
I am a recent graduate from a Translation program. I will be spending 8 months in France next year on a work visa and I would ideally like to find work in translation rather than working in a cafe

I am hoping that those with much vaster experience than I can offer some words of advice. Are there good places to look for job opportunities? Are temporary positions difficult to find? Are companies receptive to recent graduates with limited professional experience? How is translation viewed as a profession in France? I have heard that it is not as valued or well-paid as in other countries.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!
Collapse

Lakshmi Iyer
Lakshmi Iyer  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:03
French to English
+ ...
FUSAC Nov 22, 2005

Hi Alana,

There's a fortnightly magazine called FUSAC that has a lot of job ads for native English speakers. Most of these are secretarial positions or jobs teaching English, but there's the occasional in-house translation job as well. The website is www.fusac.com if you'd like to get an idea of the kind of jobs on offer.

You might also want to send your CV to some of the French agencies o
... See more
Hi Alana,