Diploma in Translation
Thread poster: picko924
picko924
Local time: 23:30
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 12, 2005

Dear All,

I have my Diploma in Translation (Spanish-English) exams coming up in about a month's time and I was wondering if anyone had any useful suggestions, hints and tips about how to prepare for this.

Many thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 00:30
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
At which college? Dec 12, 2005

Maria D'Silva wrote:
I have my Diploma in Translation (Spanish-English) exams coming up in about a month's time and I was wondering if anyone had any useful suggestions, hints and tips about how to prepare for this.

At which college do you have this diploma? What does the exam entail? Can you tell us a bit more about the curriculum of your course?

I don't think there is much you can do except that which you would have done for any other type of course. The usual study tips apply.

PRAKAASH  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 05:00
Member (2007)
English to Hindi
+ ...
You should look out for books and topics already published in various publications. Dec 12, 2005

Dear Friend,
You should look out for the books of translation subject referred by your curriculum/syllabus. The thorough study of the books will do the sufficient work for you. As far I'm concerned, I studied with the books written in Hindi and English both in the year 2001.
Best of Luck to you anyway!
PRAKASH SHARMA

Lawyer-Linguist  Identity Verified
Portugal
Dutch to English
+ ...
Do you mean the IOL? Dec 12, 2005

If so, apart from practising with old exam papers, the examiner's reports are very useful. They point out, in some detail, why past candidates didn't make the grade and you can get an idea of pass rates for the various papers, etc.

You can purchase the Spanish to English report for the January 2005 exam and old exam papers via the following link:

http://www.iol.org.uk/qualifications/publications.asp