Mobile menu

Advice desperately needed!
Thread poster: xxxjussieray
xxxjussieray
Spanish to English
Dec 20, 2005

Apologies to all and sundry...don't mean to sound like a drama queen, but I'm wondering whether to persevere with translation...

I'm 32 (although don't see how that's really relevant) and graduated in September with an MA in Translation Studies from a good, red-brick university in England. Why can't I get an in-house translation job? The reason I don't want to go freelance straight away is because, quite simply, I'm not experienced enough and don't want to harm my reputation by pretending to be so.

One factor could be that I haven't seen a single in-house position using Spanish-English (my language combination) in Britain!! This I don't understand seeing as Spain's economy has never been better, the country's been in the EU for donkey's years now, and Britain and Spain enjoy quite a bit of trade together! It's mostly French, German, Japanese, Dutch and Arabic on offer for trainee translators or project managers in the UK. I'm sure if I lived in the US or Canada, Spanish translators would have a better time of it...but please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Could it also be my age? As repulsive to think it is, many companies might have it in their heads that a woman my age has nothing but babies on her mind. I was so desperate at one point, I was even thinking of putting 'Single, childless and sterilised' on my CV!!! However, this would be pandering to their disgusting prejudices, akin to putting something like WASP in your personal profile, which I don't intend to do.

Should I go to Spain? Would I stand a better chance simply because there are fewer native English speakers resident there who have an MA from a British university? I realise, of course, that there's no guarantee of getting a job wherever I go. I am willing to accept that getting an in-house job is hard work and difficult. However, no-one told me that it would be nigh impossible.