Thread poster: Paul Lambert

Paul Lambert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:43
French to English
+ ...
Jan 4, 2006

Hi all!

Not sure if this is the right forum or not (as I'm already established!!), but I was wondering if anyone knew what the rules and regulations for exemption from the Spanish Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores sworn translator exam?

I have a degree in Interpreting and Translating from a UK University but I'm not sure if that's enough - if anyone has any thoughts or information I'd really appreciate it.

Direct link Reply with quote
Ana Fernandez  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:43
Member (2004)
German to Spanish
+ ...
Ministery's website Jan 4, 2006

Hi Paul,

you can look for some information in this website:érpretes%20Jurados.htm

Good luck!

Edward Potter  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:43
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Good luck (you will need it) Jan 5, 2006

The following is some of the interesting information I discovered when I took the test a couple of years ago:

About 850 people showed up to take the test. 18 people were given passing grades on the written part, allowing them to then take the oral part. I do not know how many of these 18 finally got named "Traductor Jurado".

If you think you did a great job on the exam and should have been given a passing grade, there is absolutely no way to protest (although I encourage you to prove I'm wrong). You are not shown how your exam was marked, nor are you given any grade nor any type of feedback (except for pass/fail evaluation).

Oh, and you hare not told in any substantial way HOW the exam will be graded. No examples are provided on what an acceptable translation looks like and the correctors are anonymous.