Mobile menu

Has anyone studied at ETI in Geneva?
Thread poster: severn
United States
Local time: 08:58
German to English
+ ...
Jan 9, 2006

I was wondering if anyone has studied at the École de Traduction et Interpretation at the University of Geneva in Switzerland. I've been searching through the forums here but couldn't find much info. If anyone has studied there or knows anything about the school, could you tell me a bit about your experiences and your opinion of the program?

I have a BA in linguistics from a Canadian university and some experience with translation, but I really feel I need more education.

Direct link Reply with quote
Christine Schmit  Identity Verified
German to French
+ ...
5 years at ETI Jan 9, 2006

Hi severn,

I got my degree from ETI, still the "licence" at that time, in 2004 and also did the "DESS en terminologie" (postgraduate diploma in terminology). I would definitely recommand it, it was a great experience for me, I learned a lot and they have some excellent teachers. I can't really tell you much about the program because they changed it from this year on to Bachelor and Master programs and I still graduated under the old system, but I don't think they changed that much in the courses themselves. Are you planning to take the MA in translation?
If you need more specific information, don't hesitate to contact me.

Regards and good luck,

United Kingdom
Local time: 16:58
English to Italian
+ ...
ETI Jan 9, 2006

I was there many, many years ago, and things have changed a lot. I had a look at the webpage and don't recognise any names for the English department. The structure is also completely new.